January Weekly Work Log

Documenting my musical workflow throughout January 2023

Recently I’ve mainly been working on an album called The Destroyer Has Returned. I am currently focused on production, vocals will come later. The only exception is You Have Not Been Waiting which already has finalized vocals. In week 1, all tracks I mention are from this album.

Dance with Me in This New Storm is an album that I started working on more recently but I plan to release it sooner.

(All links to songs go to the same version)

January 2023 Week 1What I didHow it’s going
SundayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds pretty good
MondayImproved snares on Wake Up NOW and Lingering Spirit(s)I’ve hear these songs many times but only now thought the snares should be punchier and I’m glad I did this
Tuesday1. Improved structure of Lingering Spirit(s)
2. Shortened Verde
1. I had some ideas pop into my head as I re-listened to Lingering Spirit(s) and the song feels more satisfying with the added details
2. Verde has been a track that noticeably overstays it’s welcome a bit but, I’ve only now figured out how I wanted to fix this and it turned out being a much more fun track
WednesdayAdded Numb Body to the tracklistI have much to say here,
After I cut down Verde by about 2.5 whole minutes, it left a bit of an empty space in the album which now fell just under 39 minutes. I want this album to be between 40 and 45 minutes and so I began brainstorming ideas for something I could add to an existing song or possibly a brand new short track. For inspiration, I went through my folder of unfinished projects and came across an older track of mine called Null Body. This was an 8 minute track intended to be on another album I was working on but, eventually it did not end up fitting thematically on the project. So my idea was to take my favorite 2 minutes of the track and include on TDHR for a few reasons. Number 1 is that 8 minutes was more than I wanted on this album, number 2 is that it really did not need to be that long it was a very drawn out song, and number 3 was just because most of the rest of the track did not fit thematically with my vision for TDHR anyway. I then worked on the transitions between the songs it would now be between and voila! The newest track to be added, and the oldest idea now on the album.
ThursdayImproved transitions between several (6) songsVery well! The album plays out quite a bit smoother between tracks and it’s very satisfying
FridayNo work today
SaturdayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds great
January 2023 Week 2What I didHow it’s going
SundayNo work today
MondayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds great
Tuesday1. Shortened Tentative Identity from the album Dance with Me in This New Storm
2. Added nightmare talk to the intro for Numb Body
3. Worked on production for Numb Body
4. Minor adjustment to Verde
1. This track, off of another album I’m currently working on, was originally 7.5 minutes and that really dragged so I shortened it to about 6 where it still included all my ideas for it but it always still felt kind of long so I finally got around to a nice 4.5 minutes that I’m happy with
2. This just became a much more interesting track
3. Had some ideas to tweak, sounds better now
4. Wanted to change one little thing
WednesdayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds great
ThursdayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeI’m extremely proud of myself with this project
FridayNo work today
SaturdayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds fantastic
January 2023 Week 3What I didHow it’s going
SundayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds wonderful
MondayListening through TDHR and Dance with Me in This New Storm for any changes that should be madeThey both are sounding real good, DWMITNS will probably be released first
TuesdayListening through TDHR and Dance with Me in This New Storm for any changes that should be madeVERY proud of my work
WednesdayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds so freaking good!
ThursdayListening through DWMITNS & TDHR for any changes that should be madeBoth sounding great
FridayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeSounds so very good
SaturdayListening through TDHR and another album I’m working on, Jet Dream, which is much newer and earlier into production, for any changes that should be madeI think I have a bad idea deficiency
January 2023 Week 4What I didHow it’s going
SundayNo work today
MondayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeCrazy razy sound!! (good thing)
TuesdayWorked on a new ideaIt sounds pretty nice
WednesdayListening through TDHR and Jet Dream for any changes that should be madeI know it’s good because I’m still not tired of any of it
ThursdayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be made and working a little bit on the new idea from yesterdayLoving my own music
FridayListening through TDHR for any changes that should be madeNot really getting any new ideas but I’m very happy with what I currently have!
SaturdayNo work today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar