December 2022 SMART Goal Project

SUMMARY

Focus / Instrument

Vocals (mixed in a song!)

Intention (SMART Goal)

By December 13th, as a big singing singer, I will at least have a bearable mix of vocals on a song of mine by following this tutorial for session 3.

This is something I don’t have much experience with and want to get better at because I plan to have vocals in my music much more frequently now.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Stu Mackenzie – a singer I very much enjoy from one of my favorite bands who is able to do a variety of vocal styles!

Training Source(s)

This tutorial

PRODUCTION

SMART Goal Starting Point Evidence

SMART Goal Ending Point Evidence

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

When I’m really inspired by something, it can sometimes be hard to make something that isn’t borderline derivative but, after a few tries, I do end up getting something more personal like this and I’ve recently gotten better at managing this.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

The recording process for this song was also my first time being in a room with other musicians to work on music.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

Collaborating like this for the first time was very insightful and got all our creative juices flowing but it was mostly just a ton of fun.

Reactions to the Final Version

Bobby very much enjoyed the track and suggested that I subdue the hi-hats a bit as well as further fiddling with the vocal mixing on my part and the other guests seemed to generally agree.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I am very happy with the instrumentals I’ve put together but, I recognize that I definitely need to work on my vocal mixing.

Editor

Ben

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar