October 2022 SMART Goal Project

Music Production Recording Arts
Music Production Recording Arts” by Pinnacle_College is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

SUMMARY

Role

Music Production

Intention (SMART Goal)

By October 14th, as part of my School of Rock class, I will have made part of or (probably) an entire song for my session 1 project by using GarageBand.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

El-P

Notes

El-P’s production has been influential to my beat-making for years now. His distinct style finds the perfect balance between creative control and accessibility. My favorite work of his comes from the acclaimed hip-hop duo he’s a part of called Run the Jewels.

Training Source(s)

I’ve been listening to a lot of Run the Jewels lately and El-P, one of the rappers and the main producer, has definitely influenced my recent song making.

Notes

El-p’s approach to beat making is very straightforward. In a nutshell, try and make your favorite music. Make the coolest track you’ve ever heard.

PRODUCTION

SMART Goal Starting Point Evidence

First Draft

SMART Goal Ending Point Evidence

Current Final Product

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Reactions to the Final Version

Some of my class members said that the mixing and the layers were done really well. My friend, Jacob also pointed out that he enjoyed the buildups I had.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I’m very happy with how the final version turned out. The first draft you hear was an idea I got when I was at Vic’s pizza one weekend. I quickly threw it together on GarageBand to come back to later, after I finished my pizza. Then, like with basically every song I make, I kept listening to it over and over and tweaked little things I thought could be better and just kept adding to it until it started to become whole.

Grammar and Spelling

Edublogs

Editor

BA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar